December 6, 2017San Jose Convention CenterSan Jose, CA

2016 ACE Awards Winners

This year's ACE Awards winners were hand selected by a panel of EE Times and EDN editors as well as independent judges from the across the industry. All of 2016 entries were judged based on specific awards criteria.

ACE Lifetime Achievement Award

UBM is also pleased to announce joint winners of this year's ACE Lifetime Achievement Award: Dave Patterson and John Hennessey, who co-wrote the seminal text in RISC processor architectures. Through their exceptional careers, Patterson further invested RAID and helped launch the open-source hardware movement around RISC-V, and Hennessey went on to co-found MIPS Computer Systems.

2017 Jim Williams Contributor of the Year ACE Award, sponsored by Linear Technology

Ransom Stephens, physicist, engineer, author and 2016 ESC Silicon Valley Keynote presenter, will receive the 2017 Jim Williams Contributor of the Year ACE Award, sponsored by Linear Technology, for his highly regarded contributions to EDN in the areas of test & measurement.

Company of the Year

  • Advanced Micro Devices

Executive of the Year

  • Steve Sanghi – Microchip Technology Inc.

Design Team of the Year

  • Palladium Z1 Development Team – Cadence Design Systems, Inc.

Innovator of the Year

  • Bobby Littrell – Vesper

Marketing Team of the Year

  • Big Ass Marketing – Big Ass Solutions

Internet of Things Product of the Year

  • Battery Powered Mobile IoT Nursing Workstation – Onyx Healthcare USA, Inc.

Start Up of the Year

  • SiFive Inc.

Analog IC's

  • AD9371 – Analog Devices, Inc.

Development Kits

  • TI DLP NIRscan Evaluation Module (EVM) – Texas Instruments

LED's and Lighting

  • ICL8105 – Infineon Technologies

Logic / Interface / Memory

  • Samsung PM1633a Solid State Drive – Samsung Semiconductor, Inc.

Passives, Interconnects, and Electromechanical

  • Precise 800 – Orbotech


  • Vicor 48V Direct to POL Datacenter Solution – Rainier Communications

Processors (FPGAs, MCUs, Microprocessors)

  • Stratix 10 MX SiP FPGA – Intel Corporation

Reference Designs

  • MAXREFDES82# Smart Force Sensor Reference Design – Maxim Integrated


  • VM1000 – Vesper


  • Ultrahaptics Software Development Kit Version 2 - Ultrahaptics North America Incorporated

Test and Measurement Systems and Boards

  • Keithley DMM7510 – Tektronix

Wireless / RF

  • WiPry 5x – Oscium

Jim Williams Contributor of the Year

  • Ransom Stephens

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • David Patterson
  • John Hennessy

2016 Judging Panel

Erach Desai
Financial Advisor
Merrill Lynch Wealth Management

Michael Dunn
Technical Editor, EDN

Gene Frantz
Rice University

Jessica Lipsky
Associate Editor, EE Times

Jessica MacNeil
Senior Editor, EDN

John Mashey

Lucio Lanza
Managing Director
Lanza Tech Ventures

Max Maxfield
Content Chief, and Embedded Systems Conference

Hailey McKeefry
Editor-in-Chief, EBN

Rick Merritt
Silicon Valley Bureau Chief, EE Times

Rich Quinnell
Senior Technical Editor, EDN, EE Times

Susan Rambo
Executive Editor, EE Times

Martin Rowe
Senior Technical Editor, EDN, EE Times

William Tai
General Partner
Charles River Ventures

Steve Taranovich
Senior Technical Editor, EDN, EE Times, Planet Analog

Junko Yoshida
Chief International Correspondent, EE Times

Enter Today